Feed on
Posts
Comments

Please join the Antiquarian and Historical Society this Saturday, October 19th for a Historic Hayride and Moonlight Paddle.  The Historic Hayrides will be from 4:30 p.m. until 6:30 p.m. and will begin and end at the Culver Depot.  Jeff Kenney will narrate the hayrides with interesting facts of Culver’s past. The Moonlight Paddle will be [...]

Read Full Post »

The fifth grade classes of Culver Elementary immersed themselves in our area’s unique natural, historical and cultural heritage as part of a joint tour of the Center for Culver History and the Culver Academy History Museum on May 21st. The students learned about the State Exchange Bank robbery of 1933, the history of early Indian [...]

Read Full Post »

Check out our NEW set of 8 note cards!  Send out Thank-You’s or Forget-Me-Not’s in high style with vintage images from Culver’s diverse history. They were commissioned by the Antiquarian and Historical Society of Culver, IN and were inspired by a collection of old photos and postcards.  The images were selected by Judy Kimmel Sawhook [...]

Read Full Post »

Warner Williams exhibit at museum Ongoing at The Center for Culver History is a display of Culver Academy’s 20-year artist-in-residence and Culver citizen Warner Williams.  This exhibit encompasses both works of art loaned to the museum from members of the public, as well as various memorabilia from the life of one of our community’s more [...]

Read Full Post »

The Winter (Feb. 21 publication date) issue of the AHS’ “Culver History Quarterly” was published in the Culver Citizen newspaper recently. As part of the AHS-Citizen partnership, every member of the AHS will receive a subscription to Culver’s weekly newspaper of record (read more in the newsletter itself).   A number of updates are available [...]

Read Full Post »

Ask any long-time Culver citizen about Warner Williams, and you’ll probably hear a description of an eccentric man riding around town on his bicycle, his long beard flying behind him. Others may recall the geodesic dome he constructed in his back yard, out of from which he churned out countless plaster animal sculptures following his [...]

Read Full Post »

Prior to the 1991 demotion of the Culver Inn, on the campus of Culver Academies, members of the Culver fire department were given permission to utilize the delapidated building for training purposes, as pictured in these photos.

Read Full Post »

Culver Military Academy’s Trunk Room began its life as theTabernacle for the chautauqua hotel Henry Harrison Culver built at the site of today’s Main Barracks, for the 1889 chautauqua season (famous evangelist T. Dewitt Talmage spoke there). It became the Culver Military Academy gymnasium when the school was started in 1894, and the school’s dining [...]

Read Full Post »

Then known as the Gignilliat cottage — for Culver Military Acaemy superintendent L.R. Gignilliat — and later as the Superintendent’s Home, all but the first floor of this late 19th century structure burned in a March 25, 1918 fire, though there was time to save most of the furniture and belongings from the flames. The [...]

Read Full Post »